About Us

The Coalition of Physician Learning and Practice Improvement (the Coalition) was established in 2019 by eight national medical organizations with the goal of carrying forward into action the recommendations contained in the Future of Medical Education in Canada (FMEC) CPD Report (2019). The Report was the result of four years of consultation and involved over 100 CPD leaders in Canada in a series of working groups and conferences. The Report describes a new CPD system that supports physician learning and practice improvement and sustains innovation and quality improvement for the health of Canadians. It is part of a long term initiative to ensure Canada’s medical education system continues to meet the changing needs of Canadians, both now and into the future.

The Coalition envisions a CPD system in Canada that is responsive to patient and community needs, that is based on evidence and practice data, and that is oriented towards meaningful improvements in physician practice and patient outcomes.

Coalition Leadership Team and Collaborating Organizations

The Coalition for Physician Learning and Practice Improvement is funded and spearheaded by eight partner/collaborating organizations. Each of these organizations has identified a representative for the Coalition Leadership Team, as noted below. The Team also includes patient representatives and a senior advisor.  The CFPC serves as the Secretariat of the Coalition.

Leadership Team Members

The College of Family Physicians of Canada Logo


Chair, Executive Director, Professional Development and Practice Support

Margie Sills-Maerov BScOT, MBA

Program Coordinator

College of Family Physicians of Canada


AFMC logo

Ms. Anna Karwowska, MDCM, FRCPC

Vice President, Education 

The Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada


Canadian Medical Association Logo

Jennifer Kitts, BA, LLB, LLM

Vice-President, Advocacy and Policy

Canadian Medical Association


CMPA logo

Jennifer Gordon, MEd, CAE

Acting Executive Director, Learning

Liisa Honey, MD, FRCPC

Senior Physician Advisor, Safe Medical Care Learning

Canadian Medical Protective Association


The College of Family Physicians of Canada Logo

Dr. Janice Harvey, BSc MD CCFP (SEM) FCFP

Physician Advisor, Continuing Professional Development

College of Family Physicians of Canada


Federation of Medical Authorities of Canada logo

Fleur-Ange Lefebvre

Executive Director & CEO

Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada 


Fédération des médecins spécialistes du Québec

Dr. Samuel Daniel, MD, FRCSC

Directeur, Développement professionnel continu, FMSQ

Fédération des médecins spécialistes du Québec


MCC logo

Alexa Fotheringham, MEd

NAC Examination, Interim Manager

Medical Council of Canada


Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada logo

Rhonda St. Croix, MBA PCC CMA

Director, Continuing Professional Development,

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada


Ms. Lynn Ashdown, BSc, MD, DipMedEd

Sandra Zelinsky, Lead Patient Research Partner, Alberta SPOR SUPPORT Unit

Patient Partners/Patient Experience Experts

Ivan Silver, MD, MEd, FRCPC

Senior Advisor, CPLPI

Staff Psychiatrist, Geriatric Division

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health

Professor, Department of Psychiatry,

University of Toronto